anatomy, literature
I stumbled across this gem this morning.  I still can’t quite tell which I need to brush up on more; my anatomy or my Tolkien.  Back when I was a studying biology, I noticed that a lot of anatomical terms sound like they come straight from Middle Earth. So, to celebrate the release of the last Hobbit film, I’ve created this INCREDIBLY nerdy quiz. Do these words and phrases refer to parts of the human body, or reference people and places from J. R. R. Tolkien’s work? Antrum of Highmore Crypt of Morgagni Caves of Androth Lobelia Loop of Henle Scapha Great Vein of Galen Halls of Mandos Groin Gap of Calenardhon Macewen’s Triangle Canal of Schlemm Gerontius Islets of Langherans Meckel’s Cave Chamber of Mazarbul You shall not pass.

Back when I was a studying biology, I noticed that a lot of anatomical terms sound like they come straight from Middle Earth. So, to celebrate the release of the last Hobbit film, I’ve created this INCREDIBLY nerdy quiz.

Do these words and phrases refer to parts of the human body, or reference people and places from J. R. R. Tolkien’s work?

  1. Antrum of Highmore
  2. Crypt of Morgagni
  3. Caves of Androth
  4. Lobelia
  5. Loop of Henle
  6. Scapha
  7. Great Vein of Galen
  8. Halls of Mandos
  9. Groin
  10. Gap of Calenardhon
  11. Macewen’s Triangle
  12. Canal of Schlemm
  13. Gerontius
  14. Islets of Langherans
  15. Meckel’s Cave
  16. Chamber of Mazarbul

You shall not pass.

From: http://skunkbear.tumblr.com

Standard

Leave a Reply

